Women of Inspiration Education Award Recipients

Women of Inspiration Education Award

Girls Inc. Northern Alberta in partnership with Syncrude Canada have proudly assisted 27 women pursue their post-secondary education goals with three education awards. These women are role-models for girls in our community, so that they are inspired to become strong, smart and bold women in the future.

The award is given based on the financial need, academic achievement and extracurricular and community involvement.

The award will be provided to a female student pursuing studies in, but not limited to, colleges or university studies. Technical or Trades studies are also eligible. Applications will be accepted from June to mid-July.

Two of the scholarships have been named after our former Women of Inspiration. The Barb Jewers Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to an applicant who demonstrates a sincere commitment to volunteerism and community activism. The Elsie Yanik Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a qualifying applicant with First Nations or Metis ancestry.

To honour the legacy of Girls Inc. of Northern Alberta’s founder Ann Dort-MacLean--who retired in 2018-- the Ann Dort-MacLean Scholarship will be awarded to an applicant with demonstrated passion for youth empowerment and gender equality.

Syncrude Canada is a proud supporter of Girls Inc of Northern Alberta

2021 Recipients


Laurell Pallot has been awarded the Ann Dort-MacLean Scholarship for a demonstrated passion for youth empowerment and gender equality. She is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing at Keyano College. Having always wanted to go into nursing, Pallot looks forward to helping people and working closely with patients while hopefully one day holding a leadership position in healthcare such as a registered nurse or nurse practitioner. She hopes “to be a vessel for representation and someone to create the safe spaces” -- something that she did not have access to growing up.

“Your voice doesn’t have to be vocal. You could start petitions, do other things. I think a big part of it is the actions. Being the change you want to see.”


Denna Flett has been awarded The Elsie Yanik Memorial Scholarship for her demonstrated commitment to Indigenous advocacy and community involvement. As a member of Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation (ACFN), she is working towards medical school by pursuing a Bachelor of Science with a major in biology at the University of British Columbia (UBC). Flett hopes to become an Indigenous physician who intertwines culture and medicine to provide medical care in Fort McKay and Fort Chipewyan.

During the pandemic, Flett was able to be mentored by Dr. John O’Connor, who provides primary care to the Indigenous communities in our region. She calls the experience “eye-opening” and says it confirmed her aspiration of becoming a physician.

“I really appreciated just watching him [Dr. O’Conner] interact with the community and seeing these long-standing connections. He was talking with mothers who he treated as a child. I thought that was so wonderful to be able to be a part of their entire life, or at least a lot of their life. It was inspiring to have that sort of connection with the community while also working to bridge the gap in healthcare for Indigenous communities.”


Areebah Mansoor has been awarded the Barb Jewers Memorial Scholarship, for extensive community volunteering engagement in developing and using youth’s ‘voice’. Mansoor is pursuing a Bachelor of Science from the University of Alberta with a goal to attend a pharmacy school to directly help patients through necessary medications and assistance. She hopes to influence other women to pursue careers in STEM fields.

“I’ve worked with a lot of women, different youth, and mentorship programs because I think it’s so important. Those resources were useful to me when I was in their position and my desire is to give back to the community as much as I can.”